Seemed so simple.

On the menu: Mushroom Pies with Pear Salad

Earlier this month, I took out my old November issues of Food Network Magazine to look for some Thanksgiving inspiration. I didn’t find any holiday ideas, but I did find a couple of great weeknight dinners. The simplicity of these mushroom pies drew me in, as did the combination of textures and flavors presented in the recipe. The idea seemed so simple, yet the meal encompassed a variety of sensory experiences. We had to try these, and since the whole thing came together in half and hour, how could we not?

My initial impression of this dish was spot on. After minimal effort, dinner was on the table in 30 minutes. The mushroom pies were crunchy and light on the outside, then creamy and heavy on the inside. The additions of cheese and dijon mustard complemented the umami flavor of the mushrooms quite nicely. The pear salad was a great accompaniment–fresh, clean, and bright. The bracing vinaigrette worked really well with the sweetness of the pears. Amidst all of the indulgent eating we’re doing this season, this meal was a much needed break.

In other news, I am getting really excited to start baking Christmas treats. I found a great recipe for chestnut cake on Tastespotting over the weekend, but finding chestnut flour has been rather difficult. I have lots of other goodies that I want to bake, so I’ll be occupied in the kitchen in any case. I’m excited to be participating in food52’s Secret Santa this month, and I’ve been planning my contribution for days. I hope to share some of my holiday treats with you soon. Happy December!

Mushroom Pies with Pear Salad
from Food Network Magazine, November 2009

1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
2 large portobello mushroom caps
3 tablespoons breadcrumbs
1 cup shredded muenster cheese
1 egg, beaten
1 shallot, thinly sliced
3/4 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 cups of salad greens
1/2 a pear, thinly sliced

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spray it with cooking spray. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the puff pastry into an 11 inch square and cut in half on the diagonal. Spread dijon mustard on the center of each triangle of puff pastry. Place the mushrooms gill side up on the puff pastry and season with salt and pepper.  Toss the breadcrumbs and the cheese in a bowl and sprinkle over the mushrooms. Fold pastry edges together over the mushrooms, making sure the mushrooms are completely enclosed. Brush both sides of the pastry with the beaten egg. Place seam-side down on the prepared baking sheet, make slits in the top of the pastry, and bake until golden and crisp, about 25 minutes. Let cool slightly.

While the mushroom pies are baking, combine the shallot, vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste in a bowl, then whisk in the olive oil. Toss the dressing with the greens and pear. Serve with the mushroom pies.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Salads, Sides, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seemed so simple.

  1. emma schultz says:

    Eep, is this the first recipe you’ve made on here that is one of my go-to favorite chic-meets-casual dinners? YES!

    I always make mine like little turnovers, but these are so much prettier! Love the extra additions too, I’ll have to turn up the creative juices a bit the next time I make these. Nice:)

    Chestnut cake sound crazy good, by the way. Best of luck finding the flour!

  2. emma schultz says:

    *sounds*

    I make myself all caveman-like. Sound good. Cake sound good. Cake yum.

  3. Hannah says:

    These mushroom pies look totally delicious! I’m participating in the Food52 Secret Santa, too – so much fun! Happy December to you!

Leave a comment